POP-UP gallery

nederlands · français · english

Art Gallery - Charlotte van Lorreinen

 

The gallery is located in the historic centre of Tervuren in Belgium, a historically rich area known for its famous inhabitants. Reason more to go back in that past and let us inspire by their names. Art Gallery Charlotte van Lorreinen refers to two historical figures who lived in Tervuren :

Charles of Lorraine (1712 - 1780)
He lives in our memory as a young scion of the famous Lorraine family, heirs to the throne of the Hapsburg Empire. Brother-in-law of Empress Maria Theresia, Charles of Lorraine was general officer of the Austrian Netherlands. Al this life he resided in the castle of Tervuren. He had a large interest in science and arts, organized a lot of events and at the same time was not afraid to conceive different monuments such as 'the Horseshoe', 'the Manufactury',...

Princess Charlotte of Belgium (1840 - 1927)

The daughter of Leopold I married Maximilian of Austria and became empress from Mexico. Her husband was fighting in Mexico for a long time but finally had to withdraw and was killed. She however believed he was still alive. Finally the truth came out while she gradually losed the plot. Upon her return she liveda short time in the Palace of Tervuren. During that period a fire accident took place in the Palace.
If this subject is interesting you, go to visit the Municipal Museum 'Hof van Melijn'. Furthermore the Historic Museum of Tervuren is not so far from the Gallery. http://www.heemkundetervuren.be.

nederlands · français · english

Art Gallery - Charlotte van Lorreinen

 

L’immeuble se trouve dans un lieu historique riche, où ont vécus plusieurs personages historiques. Le nom de la gallerie est inspiré par ses personages. Art Gallery Charlotte van Lorreinen réfère à deux personages historiques de Tervuren:

Charles de Lorraine (1712 - 1780)
Il vit dans notre mémoire, le dernier de la bien connue famille de Lorraine, héritier des Habsbourg de Vienne. Le beaufrère de l’impératrice Maria Thérèse, Charles de Lorraine, était gouverneur général des Pays Bas Autrichienne. Il résidait des années dans le magnifique château de Tervuren. Diverses années il a prêté une grande attention aux sciences, poussées et osées... il a installé le "Hoefijzer", une autre manufacture de porcelaine,...

Princesse Charlotte de Belgique (1840 - 1927)

Cette fille de Léopold I était mariée à Maximilien d’Autriche et devenait ainsi Impératrice du Mexique. La elle a longtemps crue que son mari vivait encore alors qu’il était déj à longtemps mort. Enfin elle a su la vérité et est devenue folle de tristesse. Revenu en Belgique elle s’est réfugiée aussi dans le Palais de Tervuren. Cependant le Palais a souffert d’un incendie.

Si le coin vous intéresse, n’hésitez pas de passer faire un tour dans notre nouveau musée communal "Hof van Melijn". A recommander. En même temps on y trouve le musée... et la galerie est à quelques pas de là. http://www.heemkundetervuren.be.